Jewelry making

While in Jackson Hole I had the most fortunate opportunity to take a bead stringing class given by this amazing woman, Ingrid Weber.  Ms. Weber lives in J. Hole during the summer, winters in Arizona and spends the rest of her time near grandkids in Washington.  She was the most interesting person and was so generous with her teachings.  Before retiring she owned a bead store in J. Hole.  Ms. Weber has been commissioned to make jewelry for the Vice President’s wife, Lynne Cheney.  Ms. Weber has seen her wear those items in the media.  She has also done trunk shows for Mrs. Cheney and her friends.  Over time Ms. Weber has had many pieces in galleries throughout J. Hole.

I also had the opportunity to take the class with my dear friend, Susan, whom I hadn’t seen in 5 years.  I first met Susan over 10 years ago when we were both volunteering with the Therapy Dog program at a local hospital in Maine.  We had so many things in common and we grew quite close.  Unfortunately, her husband’s career took her away, all the way to Idaho.  Now, in recent years we have been able to connect through my In-Law’s who live an hour and a half away.

Ms. Weber said that most anyone can craft jewelry but not all can be a “jeweler”.  To set yourself apart the difference in a good beader/jeweler is in the finishing touches which she demonstrated.

We made 5 different pieces.  This photo (a photo that I took of a photocopy) is of the pieces that she made and that she sells.

IMG_0879-1

Here are my versions, a necklace and a bracelet.

img_0583.jpg

The two pieces can be combined into one necklace.

img_0585.jpg

This freshwater pearl necklace and bracelet that is not my style but lovely all the same and destined to be a gift.

img_0588.jpg

Finally, this hip eyeglass holder that I gave away to my MIL and plan to make for a teacher. Here’s my hip friend, Susan, modeling hers.

img_2574.jpg

It was a wonderful, inspiring and creative day. Thanks to my MIL for the idea and for setting it up! Since the class I’ve been practicing Ms. Weber’s techniques and have made a few things. Next week… my very own Etsy shop!

Leave a Reply

