The end of our growing season

Last night we had our first frost, temperatures dipped into the upper 20’s. Sadly, it means the end of my morning glories and a few other annuals that are still hanging on. On the agenda for today is cleaning up some of the garden and dumping a few pots. I’ll also collect seeds to save for next spring.

The frost and a beautiful sunrise gave me the inspiration to take a short drive with my camera in tow while donning a winter jacket and my fleece lined Crocs.

These are all taken in a field across the street from my older son’s school.

IMG_1028

This sumac is so invasive but displays beautiful fall color.

IMG_1019

IMG_1034

IMG_1021

Unfortunately, I didn’t have my macro lens with me but this shot still came out pretty good. The crystals are amazing.

IMG_1031

IMG_1026

These horses are in a field at the bottom of our street. They are wise enough to stand in the sun. You can see on the field where the sun hasn’t yet risen high enough to melt all of the frost.

IMG_1036

Leave a Reply

