Day of dusk

All day long it seemed to be on the edge of darkness.  It was rainy, windy and cold.  I even pulled out my lightweight winter coat.  It was so dark that I couldn’t take pictures of the new bracelet that I just finished.  Next on my to do list is a light box.

So, since I don’t have any photos to share I thought I’d post a recipe that’s recently been rocking my world.  It’s from Better Homes and Gardens but I’ve mixed it up enough to make it mine.

Crunchy Chicken and Fruit Salad

2 chicken breasts cooked and torn into bite-sized chunks, I bake the chicken then throw it into the freezer to cool while I prepare the rest of the salad

2 oranges

1/3 cup light mayonnaise

1 apple cored and chopped

1 5-oz. bag of baby lettuce

1 avocado chopped

handful of pecan halves

Squeeze the juice from one orange.  Stir just enough into the mayo to make dressing consistency.  If I only have one orange on hand I’ve used bottled orange juice with the same result.  Season with black pepper and salt.  Peel and section remaining oranges.

In a bowl place greens, chicken, apples, oranges and avocado.  Toss in pecans.  Drizzle dressing.  So freakin’ good!

Leave a Reply

