Final Flower Show Photos

IMG_0928

Just a posting of the remainder of the more remarkable photos from the Smith College Spring Bulb Show.

IMG_0925

IMG_0884

IMG_0883

IMG_0868

IMG_0846

IMG_0862

This is a unique variety of crocus that I hadn’t seen before.

IMG_0916

Another variety of Dwarf Iris.

IMG_0920

I was first introduced to the Witch Hazel plant in a photography class that I took at Norfolk Botanical Gardens where it was blooming in February. The flowers look like bursting fireworks. At a time when few plants are blooming, Witch Hazel adds sparkle to the landscape with bunches of yellow to cream flowers. When we moved back to the Northeast I was happy to find that this North American native is hardy in USDA zones 3-9. Each year I intend to plant one in my landscape but I just haven’t found the perfect spot.

IMG_0943

One thought on “Final Flower Show Photos

  1. What gorgeous photos! You’ve inspired me to get outside and plant-flowers of all kinds scream when they see me coming, but I don’t care. I’m gonna try again this year anyway.

Leave a Reply

