Picture Summer Day 8: Treasure Hunters

Buoys

Each summer I read Anne Marrow Lindbergh’s Gift from the Sea. Year after year, her words and insights stir my soul. As she likens life to the many unique seashells she collects, so too am I reminded of my own collection and how each object can be revered as a sacred symbol of my own life. What about you? What kinds of natural artifacts do you seek out?

Shells, sea glass, rocks or other baubles nature offers can not only bring our attention to the wonders of the season but can direct out hearts and minds toward a deeper understanding of who we are and a sublime state of mind.

I am not a collector of anything in particular, well besides dust, so since I’m at my Mom’s house in New Hampshire I took a picture of one of her collections. It’s actually a collection that I started when we lived in Maine and I discovered two of these buoys at an antique shop. She added three more and the lobster trap.

Leave a Reply

