Picture Summer Day 24: Larger than Life

Shadow play

As the days grow long, so too do the shadows the summer sun casts. Today, shoot a shadow self-portrait. Reveal a little something about yourself via your own shadow.

I waited all day hoping that the sun would be shining just before it set in order to display the best shadows. I dusted off the tripod and set my camera on it low, about 3′ high. First, I had us line up in front of the camera but I couldn’t get our shadows without one of us blocking the shot so I moved the camera so it was shooting at us and into the sun. With some difficulty (argh!), I got the kids to stay in one spot, left a space for me and used the 10-second timer. This was shot 2 of 2. In hindsight, I wish that I had tried one with us hugging, perhaps tonight.

4 thoughts on “Picture Summer Day 24: Larger than Life

  1. I love this picture.
    You caught “the golden hour” of light when those shadows are nice and long.
    Beautiful

  2. I can just imagine the complications and chaos that was probably going on while you set up this shot! You have to love the family patience with the family photographer! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

