The ultimate sacrifice

My friend, Susan, had a baby girl this summer. It is her third child and first girl. Susan and I became friends when we lived in Nashville and our oldest kids were little. I had a dilemna when considering what to give Susan as a gift to welcome her new daughter, Josie. I knew that she wouldn’t need much because Susan has a lot (understatement) of friends, friends that would be giving her baby girl clothes and knitting her cute baby hats. I considered jewelry for Susan but that didn’t seem quite right and not completely original plus it wouldn’t be for Josie. Finally, I came up with this idea, and if you know anything about me this gesture was not without pain.

NYY cap fence

You see, Susan has a fault, she’s a die-hard Yankees fan. And, as you know, I’m a die-hard Red Sox fan. Which, over the years, has led to stimulating conversation especially since our friendship has grown through years that the Red Sox finally won a couple of World Series (2004, 2007). Susan is a trash talker, too, like most Yankees fans and I can’t compete so I let her get under my skin and fester.

My only advantage point comes from being clever, very clever. One spring we flew down and visited her and on the day we were leaving she was leaving, too. Susan’s husband, Andy, is a great sport and when I left on that day I gave him a Red Sox bumper sticker to place on her car where it was positioned for a week.

Red Sox bumper sticker on Yankee fans car

When her second son, Calvin, was born I gave her husband a Red Sox onesie that he was kind enough to place on Calvin and send me a picture.

Calvin Red Sox

We had some success with her oldest son who likes the Red Sox because my boys do, too. I’ve sent him Red Sox clothing and Red Sox Silly Bands. Though, sadly, I don’t think we’ve had much success with Calvin.

NYY cap spotlight

So I formulated my idea, knowing that Josie would be a hopeless case without our nearby Red Sox influence. First, I had to go in search of a pink Yankees cap which you wouldn’t think would be so hard to find around here when there are so many Yankees fans (western Mass. is close enough to New York to start the blend). I know this will sound dramatic but it will get my point across… the pain I felt when touching that cap was both physical and emotional. I won’t even visit a Yankee website for fear of getting Yankee “cookies” on my computer. Even typing the word is painful.

One morning this summer, bright and early, I took that cap over to the local ball field where both my kids spend a lot of time in the spring. I placed it all over the field taking pictures. And, in doing this, I didn’t feel completely like a sell out since we were leaving later in the day to see a Red Sox game at Fenway. I wasn’t able to narrow it down to one shot since I liked these both equally. I framed the photos and when I brought them to the Pack and Ship store the owner tried to shake my hand for being a Yankee fan. Of course, I refused. But I knew with him being a fan the photos would arrive safely.

Here they are displayed in sweet Josie’s beautiful room. Josie will be up here for a visit next summer and I can’t wait to meet her!

DSC09802

DSC09805

DSC09807

And, I must admit, that I could only bring myself to publish this after the Red Sox have beaten the Yankees twice in the past two days. It looks like we’ll have to wait another year for the Red Sox to make the playoffs but, as a Red Sox fan, I’m used to it.

5 thoughts on “The ultimate sacrifice

  1. All of your pain was worth it because I can’t even describe how awesome it was to open up the package and see those beautiful pictures. Your work is AMAZING and it was such a thoughtful gift, considering the great, heartwrenching sacrifice you put into it. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    Oh, and that picture of Calvin is so, so horrible that you know it was taken and e-mailed without my permission. At least I can take comfort in the fact that it doesn’t look like him and I can always claim it was some other baby.

Leave a Reply

