Picture Fall: The Great Pumpkin

Pumpkin condensation

Today’s prompt:

Another quintessential representation of fall is the pumpkin; large, round, vibrant and jovial. I’m not sure what it is about these unique specimens (color, shape, size, symbolic meaning) that makes them so enchanting but they are just that.

It’s time today, to offer a seasonal ode to the great pumpkin!

I read this, as I do all of my Picture Fall prompts, first thing in the morning. It’s my second thought after coffee, of course. Once it got light and I had the kids up and getting ready for school I noticed all the condensation on the windows due to our unseasonably warm and humid weather. With the sun rising and reflecting off the foliage the condensation was taking on all kinds of gorgeous color. So on a second story window I stuck my hand out and with a Nerf dart drew a pumpkin. Kinda takes the romance out of it but I’ll go to great lengths for creative genius (snort).

Hand felted pumpkin

Then THEN, later in the day, I received the above hand felted pumpkin in the mail from my wonderfully creative friend Angel, of Stumbles and Stitches. It is the most adorable thing. It’s very tiny and sweet and just perfect. Thanks, Angel, I love it!

8 thoughts on “Picture Fall: The Great Pumpkin

  1. The first one is VERY creative! I was wondering what the orange background was…. makes me want to wipe away the condensation to see those beautiful trees.
    Your felt pumpkin is adorable.

  2. Wow….you amaze me. The first shot is so creative. I honestly thought it was on a glass of beer!! I can’t believe you got those colors. You should get first prize for creativity there. Snorting not necessary! 🙂

  3. You HAVE to describe the second shot! Did you add texture? It’s so seamless!

    I am amazed by you! I can’t wait for the picture the holidays class!

  4. I agree, there is some creative genius in you! What a great way to do the pumpkin!
    The sunshine was gorgeous that day and I had all sorts of visions of beautiful sunlit pumpkins, but by the time I got home from my errands that day (including buying a pumpkin at Randall’s) the light had dipped too far down behind the trees to be of any use to me (thanks very much Ludlow traffic!) 😦

Leave a Reply

