An early March pick-me-up

The rhythm of Gerberas

One thing I like to do for added inspiration and a pick-me-up is take the 45 minute trip to visit Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s. Everything in those stores is fresh and vibrant. I love the frozen, prepared foods at Trader Joe’s and the freshly made ones at Whole Foods. I walk along the freshly prepared food case at Whole Foods picking out a little of each item, enough to feed us for a few days. There’s so much variety and it never disappoints. My two favorite foods at Whole Foods are the goat cheese/honey/walnut/cranberry spread and the Vietnamese spring rolls with peanut dipping sauce.

Tres Gerberas

Both stores have an amazing display and selection of flowers.

Tres Gerberas (2)

I picked up both Gerbera daisies and daffodils. The daffodils were just $1.75 a bunch at Trader Joe’s. Daffodil pics to follow in a later post.

Gerbera

I took several photos (24-70mm lens at 70mm, f/2.8) and these were my favorites.

Gerbera (2)

Looks can be very deceiving. On this particular day it was 20 degrees Fahrenheit and we are still surrounded by snow. The bright sun on my front porch makes it look as if it’s summer.

Gerbera (3)

Yesterday, the top photo was featured on a great photo blog Mortal Muses. Check it out.

16 thoughts on “An early March pick-me-up

  1. Hi becky. I should have introduced myself in my comment. I am Joywith3 on Big Picture Classes and you had asked me where in NH I was from. I live in Derry :-). Oh and btw, LOVE Trader Joe’s and the closest one is 40 minutes away in Nashua. I use to go every Friday, but got out of the habit. I email them frequently asking them to build one closer!

  2. Beautiful photos. I, too, love nothing more than an afternoon at Trader Joe’s. I love looking at all the unique things and displays. Makes me feel calm. I’ll have to do the same with Whole Foods one of these days soon.

  3. I love Whole Foods but have yet to visit Trader Joes. I need to do that – I’m sure I’d love it! I love the flower photos. Daisies and other wildflowers are my favorite. Spring, spring, spring!!

  4. Your pick me up worked for me! Thanks!

    I LOVE Trader Joes and have one only 10 minutes away! I like Whole Foods, too, but find, I get overwhelmed and lost in there…

  5. Wow, these are GORGEOUS! Love the first one (cute vases, too!) and they just got better and better as I scrolled down, and now it’s impossible to pick a favorite.

    We don’t have Trader Joe’s around here, but we stopped at one when we were in California two summers ago. HAD to check them out because EVERYONE was talking about them and how great they are. We do have a few Whole Foods stores … somewhere! I’ll have to check ’em out next time I see one.

  6. Gerbera daisies are my most favorite flower! Love love love them! It’s almost as though they are smiling at you. We have gorgeous sun our porch this morning, & decieving it is, it’s only 12 degrees faranheit with the wind chill this morning. Even more crazy since I got another run in outside yesterday morning and it was 36.

  7. Ooh, I haven’t been over to Big Picture since the new assignment was posted – is the first shot your submission for this week? It is gorgeous. I was planning to figure out what my picture would be today, although it doesn’t seem that the sun is going to cooperate.

  8. Sunflowers are my favorite flowers. They have this undeniable optimism about them and you could not have captured their brightness and warmth any more clearly. Thank you for these images; starting my week with them is an absolute privilege.

  9. I like very much the vases and the background chosen for the flowers. More than any of the others, they exude a cheeriness and fatten up the aura of the sunflowers.

Leave a Reply

