A milestone

Double Puddle

We have a new bike rider! This weekend my husband and I conspired to get Casey on a bike. It was about time… he’s going to be 8 in just a few weeks and my feeling is that 8 is just too old to not know how to ride a bike. We’ve tried in the past to get him riding a bike but it was a complete fail. The kid is stubborn, not just a little bit stubborn, a whole lot of stubborn. If he doesn’t want to do something he’s not going to do it and if he’s forced there will be a major battle so we pick our battles. You should see us each evening when it’s time for homework. Argh!

He was dead set against this learning experience. “NO, I”m not riding a bike!” and “You can’t make me!” but I was determined. After a little consideration I offered him a bribe, I told him we’d take him to the store to pick out a treat. He said, “Okay!” and I was like, “Huh?” that’s all it took. You’d think that after 10+ years of being a Mom I would have already thought of that but apparently I still have a lot of learning to do too.

Learning to ride a bike (1)

We took him down to the elementary school where his older brother had also learned. Nice wide open parking lot and no distractions.

Learning to ride a bike (2)

And it took less than 10 minutes before he was off.

Learning to ride a bike (3)

WOOHOO!

Learning to ride a bike (4)

Then there was no stopping him, he even decided to bike home with Dad and big brother. I followed along in the car knowing that he wouldn’t make it all the way but he came pretty darn close.

Bad ass biker

Sweet Shot Day

His stubbornness is offset by how much he make us laugh, he really says the funniest things. He picked out this rad helmet but the straps bother his ears (stubbornness) so I was giving him a little eyeroll through his mini-tantrum and he said to me, “MOM, stop giving me the baldy eye!” a.k.a the hairy eyeball.

p.s. One of my photos is featured on Mortal Muses today. Check out their lovely photo blog!

11 thoughts on “A milestone

  1. Woohoo is right! Conrats to you both! 🙂

    LOVE the shot of your husband’s pride followed by your son’s joy at accomplishing this milestone! Have you asked him why he fought learning to ride??

    I don’t know how old I was (I believe I was quite young as wehn I was a kid, you either rode a tricyle or a bike…training wheels were not allowed), but I distinctly remember that moment when I took off from the safety of the curbing and was finally able to balance myself! Oh, how happy I was knowing I was then able to ride with my older brother and sisters! 🙂

    • He was apprehensive, scared mostly. It’s funny, this winter he was diving head first off the deck into the snow but riding a bike is (was) more scary. I think I was 4 when I first rode without training wheels. I remember taking a lot of spills.

  2. Congratulations! What an accomplishment. And I LOVE that first photo. Very cool with the image in the reflection. Love it.

  3. YAY!!!!!! Amazing how a little bribe can cure stubbornness, isn’t it? LOL
    AND, amazing how fast they can learn something when and if they decide that they actually want to.

    Homework stopped being a battle at my house. The kids have to do it when they get home from school, because unless their homework is done, they don’t get to watch TV or get on the computer. Who wouldn’t want to get it over with asap? 😉

    Btw. that helmet is really cool!

  4. lesson learnt, you now know how to deal with other minor signs of stubborness in the future 🙂
    love how you portraited the whole situation and CONGRATS both for the experience! He learnt how to ride a bike and you got away with murder LOL
    Love all the pictures but I particularly love the first one!!

  5. Love all the photos – including the victory photos. 🙂 Yay Casey! He sounds so much like my 6-year-old – the stubbornness and the funny remarks. Little boys rock.

  6. Can you guys come over and teach Sarah to ride next? Yep, she’ll be 14 this summer and still doesn’t ride. We’ve blamed her ear issue as a possible reason, but I’ve wondered about her own stubborness.

Leave a Reply

