Smells like summer

Nauset Lighthouse

The kids were supposed to have spring break last week but because of the million snow days they had to make the days up elsewhere and instead of going to school through July the district decided to remain open during April vacation. Which meant that they would only be in school for 3 days since Monday was the Patriot’s Day holiday and Friday was Earth Day or Good Friday. We took advantage of the long weekend and headed to Cape Cod. I really needed my beach fix.

Nauset Beach

Both of the above photos are from Nauset Beach and top is Nauset Lighthouse. We were really fortunate to observe the North Atlantic right whale feeding offshore. There are approximately 400 of these whales in existence and we saw many of them. We did get a few photos with my 400mm zoom lens that I have yet to upload.

P-town

On Saturday we went to the tip of the Cape to a small town called Provincetown. It’s a fun, eclectic town. The weather was nasty! Raining and the wind was blowing so hard you had to lean into it. I think this was one of a very few photos taken this day.

First Encounter

It doesn’t always work in our favor but happily today the weatherman was wrong! He said cloudy and upper 50’s BUT it was sunny and in the upper 60’s and maybe even low 70’s. A gorgeous Easter! We had just about a perfect day. We spent a couple hours on the beach at First Encounter where the Pilgrims first met the Nauset Indians. The kids played in the sand while we explored and relaxed.

I haven’t given up on my Canon camera but I’m having so much fun with the iPad and this Instagram app. They make it so easy to post directly to Flickr. I’ll have more ‘real’ photos to share in the next couple of days.

5 thoughts on “Smells like summer

  1. I was going to ask you if you took tese with your iPad πŸ™‚
    #1, 4, and 5 are really cool, they look like old photos from the late 60’s or early 70’s.
    I need a beach fix, too….

    Happy (belated) Easter!

  2. The heck with ‘real’ photos! I’m loving your iPad ones. Hmm…one more reason to get an iPad.

    Your trip to the sea looks wonderful! I’m slightly jealous.

  3. Fun, fun! I’ve been to all the places you’ve pictured. Hubby and I have spent our anniversary weekend in Truro for the past few years so I’m very familiar with P-town too. Have you ever climbed Pilgrim Monument? Totally worth it for the view at the top.

Leave a Reply

