First run

This morning when we woke it was 6 whole degrees! It wasn’t a complete shock as we had been notified that at race time it would be 13 but, as you can see by the above photo, it only made it to 8. The reality is that any number whether it be 6, 8 or 13 doesn’t feel anything but damn cold. This was Griffin’s first race and he was a bit apprehensive. I think being concerned about the cold took his mind off the running. The glorious sunshine and dressing in several layers helped to keep us warm.

The 1 mile walk/run was a benefit for the National Lung Cancer Partnership. The length of one mile was a perfect length for a first run. I paced along with him and he started out fast so I told him to slow down so he didn’t burn out quick. He later said that he listened to my breathing and tried to match it with his own.

Once we could see the end of the race I took off so I could get a picture of him crossing the finish line. Once he crossed he was so excited and we were so proud of him! His time was 10:01 which is awesome. I’m pretty sure we can get him to sign up for a 5k (3.1 miles) but probably when it’s a bit warmer.

7 thoughts on “First run

  1. Oh, good for him! That’s a great finish time for a mile, and for a first timer!

    I ran a half marathon a couple years ago where it never got out the single digits, and you’re right: 10 degrees feels exactly like 6 degrees!

    Congrats again to your little runner!

  2. Brrr, I don’t think I would be outside in this cold… but I bet once you started running, you warmed up pretty fast! (Being out there barefoot is just nuts, though!)
    Good for him for doing this, and good luck with the 5k! Does he run with you regularly?

Leave a Reply

