What matters most, here and now.

I can’t help but think that these are the days that matter most, where I matter most. It’s not that I didn’t matter before and that I won’t matter later but today I matter the most in the lives of my kids.

Today started bright and early with a cello lesson preparing for the big concert later in the evening.

Followed by two traveling school concerts.

An after school Doctor’s appointment for an annual physical.

Then the year-end concert.

Bravo!

This is all happening after a weekend consumed by baseball games and practices, road races and Cub Scout picnics and will be followed by 6 consecutive days of baseball games. Dinner is often on the fly, dirty dishes sit in the sink a little too long, the house is in disarray, laundry piled here and there and the garden neglected and planted so very late. But I know that soon enough there will be time for all of those things, time to read the newspaper and relax with a book, time to take the dog for a walk, time to blog regularly…

(I’m not only a mom I’m a roadie with a prescription for a Chiropractor)

What really matters is right now, living in this moment.

The wonderful ladies at Focusing on Life invited me to do a guest post which is published today, please join them by describing your “place”.

13 thoughts on “What matters most, here and now.

  1. These are the crazy days of our lives aren’t they? I often feel a struggle between time for myself and time for my family, but you are right. These are the moments when we are needed most. Thanks again for posting with us today. I knew you would be a perfect fit! My post is tomorrow and I’m writing about my favorite place 🙂

  2. Wonderful post. I have a 3-year-old daughter and she is my little shadow/sponge and takes all my energy and patience most days. I’m wondering what is to come when she is older. What makes you feel that you are shaping your kids more now than ever?

    • Naomi, I remember the days when my kids were my shadows, the non-stop talk sometimes drove me crazy! I know that some people may think that I am packing too much into their schedule, I allow them to have two non-school activities which is their music and a sport though my youngest is also a Cub Scout but that doesn’t require much time. My objective has been to expose them to as much as I can and to have them tell me what they want to do. I look back on my childhood memories and know that most of them started around the age of 10, sure I remember some things from beforehand but the more concrete ones came after 10. So these are the days that they will remember and I try to make those memories worthy. Thanks for your comment and question!

  3. It’s always the here and now that’s most important. There will be a time when our kids don’t need… or want… us as much as they do now, so enjoy every minute with them 🙂

  4. Ah, I remember those days, running around, always in the car heading to rehearsals, concerts, practices. I never thought I’d say this, but I really do miss those days now that my boys have grown. I’m all for exposing kids to different things…all the possibilities! You never know where they may find their passion. Enjoy it!

  5. Hi Becky! These years you describe flew by faster than I could ever have imagined. I look back now and I am not really sure how successful I was at savoring each moment at the time. Too often I may have been thinking of the future. I sure do remember being happy when my eldest could drive a car so I could cut down on the transportation end of it:) Now I miss all those busy days…

    • Thanks, Justine. I think that we are the same age but here you are all done with the child-raising (though I know that it never really ends). Will you have an empty nest?

Leave a Reply

