Olympic fever

Olympic fever

Do you love the Olympics? I did as a kid and I still like to watch them but I can’t help but wonder if their popularity will falter with the many distractions at the hands of our youth. We don’t watch much tv here but that doesn’t mean that my kids don’t get any screen time, I often have to pry them away from their iPods and computers. I have been telling them to turn on the tv and watch the summer Olympics. Tonight we’re switching between the Red Sox v. Yankees and the Olympic games.

I actually prefer the winter Olympics over the summer games, how about you? Also, I think it was a great move switching the games to every other year and alternating the winter and summer games.

I’m going to try to be a better blogger. I have so much to share including my first official published photos, 4 of them!

19 thoughts on “Olympic fever

  1. That is so cute!
    I’m not a big sports fan, and have missed most of the first couple of Olympic games because of all the post-vacation stuff (just got back Saturday afternoon). Caught a few bits and pieces, but not sure yet if I’ll actually sit down and watch.

  2. I think I like the summer games better, although snow skiing and ice skating sound pretty good right about now with all this crazy heat we’re having. We’ve been sitting down as a family at night to watch the Olympics and it’s been really fun.

    And that’s an adorable picture, by the way. Hope you have a great day!

  3. stunning photo! so glad to see you blogging again! and…congrats on your photos being published! yay you! on another note…will you be attending camp oasis this fall? hope so!

  4. Hi Becky! Welcome back to the blogosphere! That picture is adorable. Can’t wait to hear about your published photos – very cool! I watched the opening ceremonies with my girls, but I haven’t watched anything since. I will probably try to catch women’s gymnastics, but I don’t know if I will actually plan to sit down and watch many other sports.

  5. Hi again. Wondering about the sunflowers in your header. Are they anywhere local? I’m thinking not – I’ve never seen such a beautiful field of them.

    • Hi Karen, I took this at Buttonwood Farm in Griswold, Connecticut, about a 2 hour drive. http://www.buttonwoodfarmicecream.com/ I read about it a couple of years ago in Yankee magazine and have always wanted to go but by the time I think about it it’s too late. They host a fundraiser for the Make a Wish foundation selling sunflowers and hosting other activities that raise money. They also have amazing homemade ice cream. My husband and I made a trade off… he would go see the sunflowers if we’d stop at Cabella’s in East Hartford on the way home.

      • That sounds like a nice day trip, and not too bad of a trade-off. I’ve been trying to figure out if there is anywhere I could go somewhat locally ever since I saw this picture. Whately seems like the closest place so far from what I’ve read online.

  6. Oh, this is clever! Love it! 🙂

    Congrats on being published – how exciting!

    I have been watching the Olympics. I do prefer the summer games as I am a summer girl. I’ve really loved the water sports – especially the synchronized diving, rowing, water polo and swimming events. I’m sure I will watch the track & field events, too.

  7. Love this photo Becky! and how exciting about getting photos published! Where and when and which ones? Inquiring minds want to know:)

    As far as the Olympics go I watch some here and there but I don’t sit down and watch a whole evening of them ….I did just watch some beach volleyball which was pretty fun…I got tired just watching them! Watched some synchronized diving tonight too…

Leave a Reply

