Virginia Beach

IMG_4220

We had the wonderful opportunity to spend time with family in Virginia Beach for a long, fun-filled weekend. The weather cooperated and was gorgeous and our accommodations were right on the beach with a beautiful view of the Atlantic.

IMG_4336

These pelicans are so huge it’s amazing that they can fly! Other family members were lucky enough to see dolphin playing in the surf.

IMG_4432

On our last day (this morning!) I woke up really early to catch the sunrise and it did not disappoint. The sun rose slightly before slipping behind the clouds and as soon as the rich warm colors disappeared it started to rain.

IMG_4455

One of my dreams and goals in life is to live ocean-side. I love the smell of the salt water, the sound of the waves and the feel of the sand. I love the laid back beach lifestyle. But, for now, I will just have to look forward to our summer vacation in Maine.

4 thoughts on “Virginia Beach

  1. Love this post! I feel the same way about the ocean, and it’s great that you had a chance to enjoy the beach with your family – and that you have a Maine vacation coming up. I’m about to cancel our annual summer trip to the Gulf Coast, and I’m just sick about it. We look forward to the beach each year, but the oil is looming off Dauphin Island, Alabama, where we’ve gone for our family vacation for the past seven years. 😦

    • I’m so sorry about your Gulf Coast trip! It is so painful reading about this horrible oil disaster and it makes me angry and sad that so much of nature is being harmed and destroyed.

  2. Beautiful photos! I just got back from a beach getaway that looks very similar to yours, except we had a lot more gloomy-looking skies overhead for most of it. Still, there’s something so wonderful about waking up next to the ocean!

Leave a comment